Posted on

marijuana dispensary massachusetts sell seeds


The Commonwealth employs Metrc, a third-party regulatory cannabis system to track every plant from seed to sale in Massachusetts.

All licensees in Massachusetts must use Metrc to track all marijuana products that are cultivated, manufactured, transported, tested, and sold throughout the Commonwealth.

Learn more about the Metrc Seed-to-Sale Tracking System

The web-based portal also features important resources, training, and updates for Marijuana Establishments and their agents.

Massachusetts Marijuana Business Licenses

Status: In Massachusetts, individuals age 21+ may possess up to an ounce of marijuana, keep up to 10 ounces of marijuana at home and grow up to six plants. State licensed businesses may cultivate, manufacture, distribute and sell Marijuana.

CBD Program Medical Program Recreational Program Are Applications Open?
Legal Legal Legal open

Number of Massachusetts Marijuana Business Licenses Licenses Available

Dispensaries Cultivation Manufacturing/Processing Transportation
1000+ 1000+ 1000+ 1000+

Massachusetts Marijuana Cultivation License Guidelines

A Marijuana Cultivator means an entity licensed to cultivate, process and package marijuana, and to transfer marijuana to other Marijuana Establishments, but not to consumers. A Craft Marijuana Cooperative is a type of Marijuana Cultivator.

License Types (Indoor or Outdoor) Application Fee
Tier 1: up to 5,0000 sq. ft. $200 (I) / $100 (O)
Tier 2: 5,001 to 10,000 sq. ft. $400 (I) / $200 (O)
Tier 3: 10,001 to 20,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 4: 20,001 to 30,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 5: 30,001 to 40,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 6: 40,001 to 50,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 7: 50,001 to 60,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 8: 60,001 to 70,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 9: 70,001 to 80,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 10: 80,001 to 90,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)
Tier 11: 90,001 to 100,000 sq. ft. $600 (I) / $300 (O)


Massachusetts Craft Marijuana Cooperative License Guidelines

A Craft Marijuana Cooperative means a Marijuana Cultivator comprised of residents of the Commonwealth and organized as a limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or cooperative corporation under the laws of the Commonwealth. A cooperative is licensed to cultivate, obtain, manufacture, process, package and brand cannabis or marijuana products to transport marijuana to Marijuana Establishments, but not to consumers. The application fee for a Craft Marijuana Cooperative is the total fees for its canopy. If more than six locations, add $200 (I) / $100 (O) per additional location.


Massachusetts Marijuana Product Manufacturer License Guidelines

A Marijuana Product Manufacturer means an entity licensed to obtain, manufacture, process and package cannabis or marijuana products and to transfer these products to other Marijuana Establishments, but not to consumers. The application fee for a Marijuana Product Manufacturer is $300.


Massachusetts Marijuana Retail License Guidelines

A Marijuana Retailer means an entity licensed to purchase and transport cannabis or marijuana product from Marijuana Establishments and to sell or otherwise transfer this product to Marijuana Establishments and to consumers. Retailers are prohibited from delivering cannabis or marijuana products directly to consumers; and from offering cannabis or marijuana products for the purposes of on-site social consumption on the premises of a Marijuana Establishment. The application fee for a Marijuana Retail is $300.

See also  buy marijuana seeds france


Massachusetts Registered Marijuana Dispensary License Guidelines

A Medical Marijuana Treatment Center, also known as a Registered Marijuana Dispensary (RMD), means a not-for-profit entity registered under 105 CMR 725.100: Registration of Registered Marijuana Dispensaries, that acquires, cultivates, possesses, processes (including development of related products such as edible cannabis or marijuana products, tinctures, aerosols, oils, or ointments), transfers, transports, sells, distributes, dispenses, or administers marijuana, products containing cannabis or marijuana, related supplies, or educational materials to registered qualifying patients or their personal caregivers for medical use. Unless otherwise specified, RMD refers to the site(s) of dispensing, cultivation, and preparation of cannabis or marijuana for medical use.


The History of Massachusetts Marijuana Business Licenses Marijuana

Medical Program Overview
In Nov 2012, voters approved Question 3 making Massachusetts the 18th to enact a compassionate medical marijuana program. Opening a Massachusetts medical marijuana treatment center (dispensary) or becoming a cultivation facility producer (cultivation registration) was available to just 35 sites. One Massachusetts medical marijuana treatment center per county with a maximum of 5 in any given county. Only 15 out of the allowed 35 licenses were awarded.

The state reopened the application submission process for the second time on June 29th, 2015 for nonprofit organizations to apply for a Certificate of Registration to operate a Registered Marijuana Dispensary (RMD). There is currently no deadline for application submissions, as the department will review applications on a rolling basis in the order received. Unlike many other states, the applicants are not scored but reviewed and awarded based on if they comply with Chapter 369 and the regulations.

Recreational Program Overview
Question 4, a measure to legalize recreational marijuana on the Nov 2016 ballot will allows for adults 21 and older can possess up to an ounce of marijuana, keep up to 10 ounces of marijuana at home and grow up to six plants. Marijuana sold in licensed shops would be subject to an excise tax of 3.75 percent in addition to Massachusetts’ 6.25 percent state sales tax. Individual counties, cities, and towns would have the ability to enact additional taxes as well as bans on recreational marijuana operations.

On March 6, 2018, the Massachusetts Cannabis Control Commission approved 935 CMR 500.00, the regulations for licensing and implementation of the adult-use cannabis industry in Massachusetts, ahead of its statutory deadline of March 15, 2018. The Commission began accepting applications for Marijuana Business Licenses April 1, 2018.

In July 2019, Massachusetts regulators gave preliminary approval to rules that would permit marijuana cafes and delivery services in the state, paving the way for the creation of two new types of cannabis businesses. The regulations were finalized on September 24, 2019.

Massachusetts Cannabis Delivery: What You Need to Get Started

Last year, the Massachusetts Cannabis Control Committee voted in favor of marijuana home deliveries called the Marijuana Courier License. A year later, on May 28th, 2021, a separate delivery program was introduced aimed at Certified Economic Empowerment Priority Applicants and/or Social Equity Program Participants (EE/SE Participants). This program is called the Marijuana Delivery Operators license and it grants licensees the power to act as their own entity. There is also a Delivery Endorsement, which is applicable for existing cannabis micro businesses that want to begin delivery. In this article, we will further break down;

  • The differences between Massachusetts’s delivery licenses
  • What to Expect
  • How to Apply
  • Rules and Regulations
  • Where it’s Allowed
  • The Best Cannabis Software for Deliveries
See also  marijuana seeds bangor maine

What is the Marijuana Courier License?

The Marijuana Courier License was passed in May 2020. This allows licensees to deliver cannabis and cannabis products directly to consumers and patients only from retail establishments. You must operate their own vehicle, follow delivery regulations, and have two delivery drivers in the vehicle at all times. Moreover, you must also deliver cannabis from a retail location only, acting as a third-party parcel for dispensaries. This means you cannot store their own cannabis overnight.

What is the Marijuana Delivery Operator License?

The Marijuana Delivery Operator License grants licensees access to deliver directly from cultivators and farms to the consumer. This license allows delivery services to wholesale cannabis and store it overnight at their proposed location. This means the need for drivers to visit a dispensary is eliminated. Work with third-party platform providers, like BLAZE, to make transactions, complete orders, and collect payments. Drivers can white-label wholesale cannabis or affix the branding name/logo to sell directly to consumers.

The Marijuana Delivery Operator is only available to EE/SE Participants for a period of 36 months after the first licensee delivery has been made. This delivery was completed in June 2021.

What is the Marijuana Delivery Endorsement License?

The Marijuana Delivery Endorsement is permission to perform deliveries for active license holders. In other words, if you own or operate a dispensary, you could now apply for the license to deliver cannabis in Massachusetts.

The Application Process for Each Delivery License in Massachusetts

The application process for the two main delivery licenses are generally the same, but with a few tweaks. The process is split into two phases: Phase 1 is the pre-certification application; Phase 2 is the provisional license application. For the Delivery Endorsement license, you must already have an active license to sell cannabis and be a EE/SE Participant.

Phase 1: The Pre-Certification Process

The pre-certification process requires the following:

  1. Business Information
    1. Legal Business Name
    2. Tax ID
    3. Contact Information for each licensee
    4. Disadvantaged Business Enterprise information for EE/SE Participants
    1. A security plan.
    2. Transportation plan.
    3. Inventory plan.
    4. Plant to prevent diversion.
    5. Storage plan.
    6. Delivery plan.
    7. Quality control and testing.
    8. Record-keeping procedures.
    9. Maintenance of financial records.
    10. Qualifications and intended training for personnel.
    11. Plant to obtain marijuana and marijuana products (Courier’s License).
    12. Personnel policies.
    13. Dispensing procedures (Delivery Operators License).

    After approval, the Commission will send an email to the business email you provided. If you are unsure the Phase 1 process, read through the CCC’s FAQ regarding cannabis delivery in Massachusetts.

    Phase 2: The Provisional License

    After being notified of a completed license application, you will now begin Phase 2 of the application process. For Phase 2, you will need to complete the following:

    1. Amend or supplement any outdated information from Phase 1 if anything has changed;
    2. Submit the location of your business and property interest documentation;
      1. The location of your delivery business is where you house your vehicles; the location where your delivery orders are received; where vehicles are dispatched and employees monitor deliveries through GPS; and a location where you can safely store your cannabis overnight.

      Finally, you’ve completed both steps to become a cannabis delivery driver in Massachusetts. Congratulations! Now, read on to learn about the licensing and application fees for each service.

      What are the Application and License Fees for Massachusetts Cannabis Delivery?

      For businesses controlled by and with majority ownership comprised of EE/SE Participants, the application fee is waived. These fees are typically $1,500.

      The annual license fees for both the Marijuana Courier and Delivery Operator are $5,000 and $10,000, respectively. If you are a EE/SE Participant, this fee is $0 for the first year. For the second year and beyond, the fee is $2,500 for a Marijuana Courier and $5,000 for a Delivery Operator license, a 50% reduction.

      Delivery Endorsement Application, License, and Fees

      To apply for a Delivery Endorsement License, you must submit existing business information along with the following:

      1. Plan to remain compliant with local ordinances relating to delivery;
      2. Delivery plan;
      3. Security plan for delivery; and
      4. Agreements with Third-Party Technology Platform Providers.

      Currently, endorsements are only available to EE/SE Participants during the 36 month exclusivity period, so the application fee is waived. After this period, the fee is $500. The annual license fee is $5,000 but reduced by 50% ($2,500) if you are a EE/SE Participant.

      Rules and Regulations You Need to Know About Massachusetts Cannabis Delivery

      • Two agents must be in the vehicle at all times.
      • Delivery agents must wear body cameras to deliver marijuana in Massachusetts.
      • Massachusetts cannabis delivery to public institutions such as hotels and college campuses is prohibited. Private property cannabis delivery in Massachusetts is allowed.
      • Vehicles may not have more than $10,000 in cannabis products on board.
      • Deliveries may take place between the hours of 8:00 am to 9:00 pm.

      Where is Massachusetts Cannabis Delivery Allowed?

      In Massachusetts, certain cities can restrict or limit the number of marijuana establishments from operating within their borders. Currently, the Commission allows Massachusetts cannabis delivery the following locations:

      • The city and town where the delivery licensee is located;
      • Any city or town which allows for retail operations; and
      • Any city or town that has notified the commission that delivery is allowed within their borders.

      Click here for a full map of where you can deliver cannabis in Massachusetts.

      What Software is Available to Massachusetts Cannabis Delivery Drivers?

      There is a full breakdown of the regulations and laws surrounding cannabis delivery using third-party platforms. However, investing in cannabis software that has long specialized in POS and delivery can be the smartest step your new business can take. BLAZE ERP is a cannabis software program built for cannabis delivery and compliance. For instance, customers can view your inventory ahead of time, place an order, and schedule a delivery with BLAZE. The easy-to-use interface allows you to add stops, scan items and IDs with mobile phones, and access driver ledgers instantly.

      BLAZE Delivery App is committed to Massachusetts’s cannabis delivery compliance. Our app enables drivers to capture ID verification images and signatures digitally. This eliminates an immediate headache new couriers face when getting started. Book a free demo with us here t o see how BLAZE propels cannabis delivery businesses to thrive,

      See also  white marijuana seeds